Local Governance Committee


The governance of a multi-academy trust differs from those of maintained schools. The White Horse Federation (TWHF) believes that placing statutory responsibilities firmly at its centre, in the remit of the board of trustees, allows the Local Governance Committee (LGC) to focus on providing support, overcoming challenges in the delivery of educational excellence, and outstanding outcomes for all pupils.

There are direct channels of communication between the principal and the LGC chair and central services. The clerk to the board of trustees will hold contact details for all members of LGCs within TWHF. However, routine communication for day-to-day school business should come from the chair of that LGC, managed by the school or through an LGC clerk.

The principal and the chair of the LGC are responsible for ensuring the quality and timely distribution of all material needed to keep LGC members well-informed about the school and TWHF. The principal and the chair are also responsible for ensuring the views of the LGC have good lines of communication to the board of trustees. This can be done via the elected chair’s representative on the board of trustees. Senior executives from TWHF will be nominated by the CEO to attend any LGC.

The White Horse Federation has a very clear and shared understanding of what constitutes good and effective governance. Schools within TWHF will be judged to have outstanding governance when members of the LGC:

  • Talk about teaching and learning.
  • Know a great deal about the school and its community.
  • Are ambitious for the school and its community.
  • Ask questions which make colleagues reflect, and that these discussions lead to delivering the very best outcomes for every child and adult within the school community.
  • Maintain strong and effective relationships within TWHF.

For the shared model of governance to be effective for TWHF and the schools, it is essential that there is effective communication between the board of trustees, the LGCs, chairs groups, principals, the central team, and the executive leadership team.

Current Local Governance Committee

Name Role
Michael Park Principal
Mrs Vicky Just Local Co-opted Governor, Vice-Chair
Mrs Michelle Wells Staff (Support) Local Governor
Hafizah Choudhury Parent Local Governor
Meabh O’Kane Staff (Teaching) Local Governor
Toni Mills Chair of Local Governors
Charlie Thomson Foundation Local Governor
Mary Seaman New Foundation Local Governor

Register of Interests 2023-24 and Attendance 2022-23

Local Governors have been elected by parents or staff or co-opted by the LGC and will serve a four-year term of office. The Principal is also a local governor.

Name Role Nature of Interests Date Interests Registered Terms of Office Attendance 2022-23
Michael Park Principal TWHF Employee 03/01/2023   N/A
Mrs Vicky Just Chair of Local Governors

Foundation Local Governor
Melksham Messy Church – Volunteer

St Michaels Church – Volunteer

The Manor PTFA – Volunteer

University Of Bath - Employee

Media & PR Manager

03/09/2019 – 02/09/2023
4 of 4
Mrs Michelle Wells Staff (Support) Local Governor TWHF Employee 23/09/2020 01/06/2020 - 31/05/2024 3 of 4
Hafizah Choudhury Parent Local Governor Parent 24/06/2021 28/05/2021 - 27/05/2025 3 of 4
Meabh O’Kane Staff (Teaching) Local Governor Staff (Teaching) 03/11/2021 03/11/2021 - 02/11/2025 3 of 3
Toni Mills Local Co-opted Governor, Vice-Chair Parent 01/03/2022 01/03/2022 - 28/02/2026 2 of 2
Charlie Thomson Foundation Local Governor Parish Rector 19/05/2022 19/05/2022 - 18/05/2026 2 of 3
Mary Seaman New Foundation Local Governor

No declarations of interest.

13/06/2023 13/06/2023 - 12/06/2027 N/A

Previous Governors

Katie Scammell - Left 26/06/2022 (attended 3 of 4)

Mrs Hannah Gordon - Left 31/08/2022 (attended 4 of 4)

Ms Yvonne Crook - Left 07/04/2022 (attended 7 of 7 meetings)

Mrs Pam Prance - Left 07/06/2021 (attended 7 of 7 meetings)

Mr Phil Bevan - Left 13/09/2021 (attended 3 of 7 meetings)

Ms Valerie Ferris - Left 29/07/2021

Anna Wilcox - Left 02/01/2023

Mrs Christine Harvey - Left 20/02/2023

David Pearce - Left 07/07/2023

Steve Fivash - Left 16/09/2023

Ben Maher - Left 21/01/2024

The White Horse Federation Governance Information

Click on the button below to access TWHF governance information, including:

  • Annual report
  • Annual audited accounts
  • Memorandum of association
  • Articles of association
  • Names of charity trustees and members
  • Funding agreement
  • Higher Paid Staff reports